Sit On Top Kayak Rack


This weekend has seen some good fishing and a chance to test this new product.

When it arrived early in the week it was very well packed for protection which is something I always look out for when ordering anything.

Well made, and light weight. It even comes with straps should you not have any already.

Here’s the underside before I began installing it to my roofrack.

20120129-183427.jpg

Its so easy to install you do not require any instructions, and it should take around 10-15 minutes total.

Once you’ve unscrewed the wheels your left with these parts below.

20120129-183629.jpg

Like I said, it’s very simple. Position the rack where ever it suits and tighten right up. I was slightly worried that it could be loose fitting, however it wasn’t.

A nice finish as you can see.

20120129-183908.jpg

The rack system offers plenty of padding to protect your kayak that could be essential.

20120129-184029.jpg

The added extra I particularly like, this paddle keep. Ensure you setup the rack the right way round to line up the two parts.

20120129-184230.jpg

The paddle fits well and have a very secure feel to it.

20120129-184321.jpg

Now let’s get to business, I placed my kayak into position which was easy enough but had a problem straight away.

The system still felt very secure, but my kayak didn’t fit correctly into the mould. The front didn’t look to bad, but my main concern, if I was to fully secure the kayak in place with the straps that I could damage the rack. I would have been forcing something to fit that never would. My Trident 13 is wide as are most fishing kayaks which made it impossible. No matter what I tried it wasn’t going to fit properly. This is definetly something you must consider before purchasing the product.

20120129-184840.jpg

20120129-184920.jpg

20120129-184958.jpg

In summary, the roof rack is a great system, well made and easy to install. You must ensure the shape of your kayak whether sit in or sit on top is suitable otherwise this product is not for you.

2 Responses

  1. Mike
    Great review as usual and handy as im looking to buy a roof rack for my car, one question though will it fit the Aero/wing type roof bars
    M
    Lee on Solent

Leave a comment